Ms Betterhome


Sourdough & christmas pudding vodka
August 28, 2011, 10:42 am
Filed under: city life, food, learning | Tags: ,

Encouraged by the success of the 9 bottles of limoncello I made for Christmas presents, I decided to fill my last 3 250 ml bottles with a modified version of the Christmas Pudding vodka from Not Quite Nigella. The recipe calls for macerating the mixture in a large bowl, but I’m using a 2 litre wide-mouth jar. I left out the mixed peel, and substituted chopped dates for raisins, and garam masala for the mixed spice. It’s brewing up nicely.

My other culinary adventure this week was a sourdough baking workshop at Alfalfa House. The class was pretty full, and it was clearly the trial run of what will be a very successful class. Even though it was a bit disorganised, I learned a lot about baking bread, and took home my own no-knead loaf at the end of the night. After proofing overnight, it baked beautifully this afternoon. I didn’t bring home any starter, as I’m not ready for that level of commitment. I think I have a good idea now, though, and I’ll be confident to DIY it when I’m ready.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

