Ms Betterhome


More bulk shopping – and the world’s fastest ‘cheese’ sauce
June 22, 2011, 5:37 am
Filed under: budgeting, food, gardening | Tags: , ,

I recently discovered the Only Australian online grocery store, that stocks (as you might guess) only Australian owned products. Their range includes some of the main things we go to Coles or Woolworths to buy: recycled toilet paper (discontinued by Aldi), Sanitarium veggie products & greywater safe washing powder. They also stock my new favorite organic shampoo & conditioner (Sukin) in one litre pump bottles. Since then we’ve made two bulk purchases ( including 10 kilos of washing powder) & I’ve been very happy with their service. There are downsides: they are slightly more expensive than the local supermarket, and the order is sent by road from Brisbane. However, I have bought a 12 month ‘gold’ membership that entitles us to a 5% discount, so I believe I’ll keep using them for big purchases til the end of the membership, then reassess. It means we can pretty much rely on a big Aldi shop every 3 weeks, and our regular fruit & veggie purchases.

And as for the ‘cheese’ sauce. I am on leave this week, and had a craving for broccoli pasta for lunch ( I throw the broccoli in with the pasta for the last minute of cooking time). I wanted a vegan cheesy sauce to go with it, but didn’t want to go to the trouble of cooking a batch up. Leafing through Joanne Stepaniak’s Ultimate Uncheese Cookbook for the first time in aaaages, I discovered her ‘Minute Man sauce’. My version involved the juice of half a lemon, a teaspoon of tamari, two tablespoons of nutritional yeast, a tablespoon on tahini and just under 1/4 cup of water. Stepaniak’s recommends simply stirring this all up in a small bowl, but I used the stick blender to zip mine up with some basil, parsley, garlic leaves & shallots from the garden. I used just over half on my bowl of pasta & veggies, and mixed the rest with my leftover pasta for tomorrow’s lunch. Delicious, and very easy to adapt with different seasonings, herbs etc. An excellent find!

 


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment