Ms Betterhome


Green tomato delights
June 6, 2011, 6:41 am
Filed under: food, gardening, independence days, Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

I’ve never really dealt with a large quantity of green tomatoes before, but my January planted Amish Paste tomatoes were showing definite signs of wilt. The cooler weather means they’re taking a long time to ripen (despite being up against a warm fence all day), and the flavour is pretty bland when they do.

Consequently, I decided to pull them out, & plant broad beans instead. The three plants yielded over 3 kilos of green tomatoes.

This prompted a fast google for green tomato recipes, and a big chopping session. I made a lovely pot of green tomato soup, tweaking the recipe I found on the gardening site in the hyperlink.

I also made some super intensely flavoured green tomato chutney, which I tweaked from a recipe on the same site. I may have gone a little overboard with the cracked coriander seed & the scoop of molasses I added to bump up the flavour of the white sugar I used instead of brown… but it was a very tasty experiment.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

