Ms Betterhome


Autumn planting & harvest
April 22, 2011, 9:47 am
Filed under: gardening | Tags: ,

Despite massive amounts of work, and travel, I managed to get some gardening in this month.

I planted nicola, sebago and desiree potatoes in grow bags, and they’re lined up on the north side of the house to catch the sun over winter. I also put in my joy strawberries, and extra garlic in between.

I spread the last of my dynamic lifter and some wood ash around the front garden beds and watered it all in ( though I think we’re getting rain this weekend).

The warm autumn has been happy-making for the garden. We have flowers everywhere, and lots of bees ( i learned last week how lucky we are with the bees, but more on that in the next post). The backyard tomatoes are ripening slowly, the eggplants are still fruiting like crazy, and we finally have chillies in the front yard. I ordered an oyster mushroom kit from Diggers club, and we’ve already had some mushrooms.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

ooh an oyster mushroom kit sounds fun!

Comment by Tammy McLeod




Leave a Reply

