Ms Betterhome


Travel bargains: wholegrains & nude bras.
March 31, 2011, 2:41 am
Filed under: budgeting, gardening | Tags: ,

I’m in the US for a conference this week, and as is my habit, I allocated a budget for shopping. I buy most of my underwear on US & UK trips now, so it means I buy *a lot* at once (I travel for work every 12-18 months). Australia is a wonderful place, but it is hard to buy an inexpensive, good quality bra that lasts. And if you find a good one, you’re guaranteed that when you go back to buy a new one, the design will be discontinued (I shouldn’t whine, as I am only on the larger size of average – I have plus-sized friends who are WAY more challenged bra-wise than I am).

I buy my lacy boudoir-type goodies at the Simone Perele factory outlet in Sydney, but tend to prefer sturdier stuff for everyday. Since the Australian dollar is very strong right now I was very happy to find a ‘buy 2, get 2 free’ deal on Vanity Fair bras at Macys. I now have 4 good, comfy, supportive (but not matronly) bras in different colours, including the dreaded ‘nude’ or ‘flesh’ colour ie a sickly beige.

I have a horror of ‘nude’ bras, but they really are the only bra you can wear discretely under a white shirt, so I needed one. However, it has been a good 20 years since I was willing to hand over good money for a bra in my least favourite colour, and I’m pleased the freebie pushed me over the hurdle so I can wear white shirts to work.

In addition to the bras, I also bought some very lovely, comfy and non-daggy suck-it-all-in camisoles and boy-leg undies (wow, I really am middle-aged now), and four books (at 40%-50% off) from a huge Borders that was having a closing-down sale. The highlight was Sara Pitzer’s Homegrown Wholegrains. We don’t really have room for a decent patch of grain at present, but I would like to now how to grow it – and you don’t know ’til you try. It seems from Pitzer’s book, we would probably do well starting off with a small patch of something very forgiving, like millet or amaranth. I won’t write much of a review, though, because I found a terrific one here.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

