Ms Betterhome


Full moon root veggies
March 19, 2011, 7:06 am
Filed under: gardening | Tags:

We’re due for a ‘super moon’ tonight, but it’s way too overcast for us to be able to see it.

I had a big gardening day, planting root crops for the full moon. I put in lots of daikon, some turnips, some beetroot, some red radishes and some red onion. I’m not sure how they’ll go, but I’m excited to finally have enough garden to experiment. After the success I’ve had propagating sweet potatoes from cuttings, I planted 4 more in the bed.

The silverbeet & lettuces I planted at the new moon are doing really well, and so are all the beans. The backyard tomatoes are incredibly prolific, and so are the Asian greens in the backyard. I’ve also started propagating some strawberries from runners in the front garden. The puppy eats all the fruit from them, but I’m going to grow some strawberries for the humans in a fenced off bed in the back.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

