Ms Betterhome


New moon domesticity
March 5, 2011, 7:07 am
Filed under: food, gardening, home & hearth, vegan eating | Tags: , , ,

I could have gone in the Mardi Gras parade this evening with friends, but work is just too intense right now – I just don’t have the mojo. I am a bit wistful though, as I read my friends’ updates on Facebook, and feel the excitement building.

However – today was a lovely day. I made a stuffing with some leftover rice, hollowed out some of my eggplant harvest, and prepped a big baking dish full of stuffed eggplant, ready to go in the oven before my mum’s birthday lunch tomorrow.

Mr B & I went fruit & veggie shipping, and I scored a big bag of walnuts for $11. I’ll make a batch of maple walnuts tonight, to throw in a watercress, pear & red onion salad to go with lunch tomorrow. To make maple walnuts (or any nuts), you heat a cup of nuts in a heavy, non-stick pan, throw in three tablespoons of pure maple syrup, & stir til the walnuts are dry and coated. They make a lovely sweet/savoury crunchy snack.

We cracked & bought towers for my tomatoes – my staking technique leaves a lot to be desired. While we were at Bunnings, Mr B noticed all the Yates seed was on sale. I stocked up on cherry tomato seed for next year, and also got some radish, daikon, beetroot & red onion seeds for winter. I bought a batch of assorted kale & spinach seed from Green Harvest this week, as well as some of their ‘Good Bug’ flower mix. Will check the calender for the best planting times this month… autumn really feels like it’s here now.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

