Ms Betterhome


Cooking & growing
January 23, 2011, 6:53 am
Filed under: food, gardening, home & hearth | Tags: , ,

I’ve been away most of the week for work, so I was really happy to come home & get domestic. Mr B organised the installation of the gas cooktop while I was away, so I was able to make my morning coffee on the regular stove today, instead of the little camp cooker we’ve been using.

I harvested a couple of zucchini, which we’ll have tonight on pasta, in a roast tomato sauce. We are getting lots of basil and lettuce, and the eggplant is flowering now, but the humidity has resulted in heaps of powdery mildew – I did major leaf lopping on the zucchini & pumpkin today.

I had a packet of filo that was at its ‘best before’ date, so I made a vegan ‘spinach pie’ with beetroot tops, silver beet & a tofu/cashew mix in place of eggs & cheese. I also made a nectarine/blueberry strudel with ground almonds & banana bread crumbs between the layers, to use up the last of the nectarines.

As part of the drive to multitasking with the oven as much as possible, I roasted the tomatoes, too, and some cubed pumpkin and beetroot to put in salad later in the week.

We bought a big bag of tomatoes at the fruit & veg shop, too, which I’ll mix up into a big batch of freezer salsa tonight.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What a lovely site you have. I have been spreading the word. The only problem I have is that your blog role is so darn good, I could spend all day just surfing from one food site to another.

Comment by Kathy Harrison

Thanks Kathy, I’m glad you like it 🙂

Comment by msbetterhomes




Leave a Reply

