Ms Betterhome


Kitchen frenzy
January 15, 2011, 10:16 pm
Filed under: budgeting, food, home & hearth, independence days | Tags: , , ,

I’m going interstate for work for 4 days this week, so am trying to cook and/ or freeze anything that won’t be eaten before I go ( MrB will most likely subsist on his favorite meal of schnitzel & roast veg while I’m away).

We bought a box of nectarines last week, and while I’ve already made a batch each of chutney and salsa, there is still about a kilo left in the fridge – I plan to mix in some frozen blueberries and make a crumble today.

I’ve frozen most of a bunch of overripe bananas I bought on sale, and will make a loaf of banana bread with the last two ( extra slices to go in the freezer). We’ve realized the oven and dryer are the biggest electricity hogs we have, so I’ll do the banana bread and the crumble at the same time; along with some cubed pumpkin to add to tonight’s salad. I’m trying to consciously avoid reheating the oven multiple times in a day.

I also bought a bag of eggplants very cheaply. They had a couple of soft spots, but after cutting those out I was able to make a lovely middle-eastern style chickpea/eggplant stew, and a batch of tofu/veggie kabobs (which we took to a family barbecue yesterday). I have roasted the rest, and will make a batch of baba ganuj this afternoon.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

