Ms Betterhome


House & garden update
August 16, 2010, 11:16 pm
Filed under: food, gardening | Tags: ,

Alas, the Fruit Salad tree people have sent me a warning about my fruit trees. I must remove the fruit this year, to allow all the grafts to grow. Part of me says ‘boo hoo’, but given my desire for strong, healthy trees in the long run, I will suck it up.

My dwarf Eureka lemon is flowering like crazy, so I’ll get plenty of lemons to comfort me.

We are overrun with citrus from Food Connect – we snack on oranges & mandarins, but just can’t eat fast enough. Now we have grapefruits, too, I’m going to make up a big batch of grapefruit/orange cordial for spring, using Stephanie Alexander’s lemon cordial recipe as a base. I tweak the juice/syrup ratio in favour of extra juice, as we like our drinks quite tangy.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

