Ms Betterhome


Dwarf macadamia
July 2, 2010, 7:54 pm
Filed under: gardening | Tags:

I’m not going home for a few more days, but when I get there, I’ll be greeted not only by a loving partner, but by a new dwarf macadamia tree.

Macadamias are a subtropical tree, but fruit well in Sydney (my neighbours in Marrickville had a healthy tree as tall as my 3rd floor window). I love the idea of growing nuts, but my sister’s pecan trees always get clobbered by cockatoos before the nuts have a chance to ripen. My guess is that macadamias have such hard shells, it will be hard for the birds to get stuck in… and if my guess is wrong a half-size tree will be easier to net than the usual giants.

After I got my avocados, Mr B cautioned me against buying any more trees. We already have 2 ute-loads of pots (if not more), and we’re going to have to move them all in the next six months. However, although I first asked after these in December last year, Daley’s nursery only just now have a small number available. Since I do have one last empty pot, a deal has been struck, & the new tree is on its way.

So, with this tree we’ll have:

A dwarf eureka lemon,

A multi-graft citrus (lemon, lime, tangelo, grapefruit),

A multigraft stone fruit tree (plum, peach, apricot, nectarine),

A pomegranate,

A genoa fig,

3 avocados,

and a dwarf macadamia.

And goddess willing, by the end of the year they’ll all be in the ground!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What a line-up of trees! I wish I lived next door to you so I could poach your fruits! 🙂

Comment by scrumptious

Thanks :), well you have a year or two to get that organised – most are too young to bear much fruit.

Comment by msbetterhomes




Leave a Reply

