Ms Betterhome


Rainy day baking
June 6, 2010, 6:51 am
Filed under: home & hearth, vegan eating | Tags: , ,

I did indeed make banana bread, using this recipe from How It All Vegan, by Tanya Barnard and Sarah Kramer. I tweaked the basic recipe by:

Using spelt flour, oats & a teaspoon of stevia instead of regular flour, wheatgerm & sugar, and

Adding 1/4 cup chopped crystalised ginger and 3/4 cup chopped walnuts, plus a dash of cinnamon.

The results were *very* good, and I have sliced up most of it and frozen for quick breakfasts & snacks.

While it was baking, I dug out a pack of tempeh from the freezer, and made up a ‘bacon’ marinade: soy sauce, a splash of water, lime juice, smoked paprika, a little chilli, a drizzle of oil & a teaspoon of rice malt syrup. I put the marinating tempeh in the oven for the last 1/2 hour, and it absorbed all the marinade beautifully. I’ll use the resulting tasty slices in lunches this week.

In other news, we made an offer on a house yesterday – I’m trying not to count my chickens…

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

