Ms Betterhome


This week’s veggie box- menu plans & week that was
May 16, 2010, 12:04 am
Filed under: CSA, food, vegan eating | Tags: , ,

In theory… we will get the following this week:
FRUIT: bananas, apples, kiwifruit and limes
VEGGIES: silverbeet, cucumbers, shallots, broccoli, parsley, baby cos lettuce, eggplant, and japanese pumpkin.

Last week we ate pretty much as planned, though we resorted to takeaway turkish pizza (aka pide) on Friday night. Our local now makes a vegan pide that is TRULY exceptional.

I sadly discovered that some of the green beans had gone mouldy today – I obviously should have pickled half straight up. The corn in our veg box was a dud, too (shrivelled & nasty), so more food has gone to the bokashi bin than I would have liked. But I made a deee-licious scrambled tofu for breakfast this morning, that included some mushrooms, some carrot & the last of the english spinach, & it was very, very satisfying.

As for this week: Monday I’ll have my usual post-work soup, & Mr B generally has roast veggies.

Tuesday I think I’ll do a spinach pie with the silverbeet, & roast the eggplant (for baba ganouj), plus some marinated tofu while it bakes.

Wednesday Veggie stifry & hokkien noodles.

Thursday Falafel wraps with baba ganouj, roast pumpkin & salad.

Friday Veg curry, dal & rice.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I really like that you put out a weekly menu. I also do that and haven’t thought about posting it.

Comment by Tammy McLeod

Thanks Tammy, I like to use the blog as a repository, so I don’t have to keep everything in my head 🙂

Comment by msbetterhome




Leave a Reply

