Ms Betterhome


Waste prevention: the last sprouts find a home
May 13, 2010, 2:32 am
Filed under: food, Uncategorized, vegan eating | Tags: ,

Mr B & I both love a homemade laksa, using a vegan laksa paste from Vegan’s Choice in Newtown. We often have an issue with leftover sprouts though, as even a ‘small’ 300g bag is a LOT of sprouts. We eat some in vietnamese rice paper wraps &  generic veggie stirfries, but they are fragile, & we still always to end up composting a slimy third or quarter of each bag, dang it. (I have tried them in the worm farm, but the worms don’t like them much).

Anyway, I was browsing the fabulous Fatfree vegan blog, and was thrilled to discover this recipe for sprout salad, which solves the ‘what do we cook with extra sprouts?’ puzzle nicely. I like webmistress Susan’s vegan adaptation of  Bibimbab, too …. and believe I will have a go this very weekend!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment