Ms Betterhome


Mini garden update
April 9, 2010, 10:40 pm
Filed under: gardening | Tags:

The first snow pea has appeared! There is another flower, too, so I’m hoping all 3 vines will be getting busy soon.

The weather forecast says it will reach 27 today – insane. I’ll be watering everything with seaweed solution, and picking the last cucumber, & what may be the last chilli this weekend. I’ll also dig into the jerusalem artichoke bed & see what’s happening under the surface.

I’m also planning to take some cuttings from the rose bushes down the road – will need to give the secateurs a good clean beforehand. They’re lovely white rambling roses, that produce lots of hips (good for vitamin c). I’ve never grown roses from cuttings before, but I have a nice bag of seed raising mix, some honey to dip my stems in, & Jackie French’s fabulous book New Plants from Old as a guide. We’ll see how we go.

The pak choi has come up, and so has the rocket – hurrah! Other than that, things are just trundling along. I’m still getting lots of good greens for salads, and I had my first side dish of tuscan kale last night – soooooo delicious.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

