Ms Betterhome


Shopping, cooking & planting update
March 7, 2010, 4:00 am
Filed under: budgeting, food, gardening | Tags: , ,

Grocery Shopping:

Bought $10 worth of noodles, tofu & veggies on Friday, including a kilo of japanese eggplants for $2.99. We spent an additional $23 on veggies at the markets this morning, and Mr B bought $17 worth of mince & turkey legs (which will last him about six weeks).We ate out last night, and spent about $40 for two, so total food spend for the week so far is $90.

Cooking:

I’m making a big batch of roast veggie lasagne this afternoon (using my new eggplants), which I’ll freeze in batches for quick lunches or after work dinners (I’m not getting home til 8.30 or later on Mondays at the moment). I’ll do a loaf of bread in the breadmaker, too, which I’ll package up in 2 slice packages for quick toast during the week.

I’m planning to make a veggie pie for dinner (Aldi vegan puff pastry crust, filled with assorted sauteed veg & fresh herbs bound with a mix of pureed cannelini beans & walnuts) which will give me some leftovers for lunches this week. Mr B made a tuna pasta bake that dished out to four carnivorous lunches for him.

Thanks to work and yoga comittments, I won’t cook dinner again til Wednesday, but am planning a pumpkin, leek & spinach risotto with toasted pecans. It’s a cooler weather fave, and I’m looking forward to it.

Gardening:

I’m planting new silverbeet and yet more tuscan kale this afternoon (hopefully this lot will germinate!). Still no evidence of pumpkins, but the vine is feral. We saw some amazing planters made out of packing cases at Reverse Garbage this morning. Mr B had to hold me back – we don’t have the space, and we’re going to buy this year, so don’t want to have to move any more than we already have. Still, Sydney rental gardeners take note!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

