Ms Betterhome


Quick garden update
March 4, 2010, 9:57 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

We seem to have gone into ‘Instant Autumn’ in Sydney – it was like someone flipped a switch. Many of my plants are quite grateful for the drop in temps, and are experiencing what Jackie French calls the autumn flush – new tomato plants growing solid stems, jerusalem artichokes blooming vigorously. All the vines – beans, cucumber, rockmelon – are blooming again, and the cuke is fruiting like crazy. I also have tons of something that seems a bit like radicchio, only softer & greener. It was originally part of a mesclun mix that I let go to seed – it has self-sown like crazy. I’m hoping my cos plants that are getting to the end of their lives will do the same.

Of my new plantings, I have self-sown basil (lots!), some freckles lettuce, and mizuna. I’ll have a couple of egyptian spinach plants and a couple of fennel – but the new tuscan kale hasn’t germinated! I’ll plant some more today. I’m beginning to accept that this has been my ‘learning’ year in the garden, and though I haven’t had huge harvests from anything but lettuce, chilli & cucumber, I’ve certainly learned a lot.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

