Ms Betterhome


Food for thought
February 6, 2010, 11:54 pm
Filed under: enviro, food, learning, politics | Tags: , , ,

I had to travel for work in January, and took the opportunity to buy a couple of new books for the trip (this is huge luxury for me these days. They were both non-fiction (though I borrowed some fiction from my Mum, too, so I’d have some options).

Both the books were incredibly readable, and well worth the purchase price. I’m sure I’ll re-read them in the next year or so, and get even more out of them the second time around.

The first was Raj Patel’s Stuffed and Starved, a fascinating look at the political history of food, globalisation and farmers’ struggles for social justice.

The second was another book linking history and current events: Niall Ferguson’s The Ascent of Money, which was a TV series as well.

I’m a big fan of histories that ‘de-naturalise’ events, by showing how easily different decisions could create different outcomes. Both these books get away from the idea that things are ‘just the way they are’, and create an interesting context for both the past & the present. To my mind, recontexualising the past & present offers really interesting possibilities for future change. Both books are definitely highly recommended!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

