Ms Betterhome


Juggling the budget
February 2, 2010, 10:25 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

We’ve paid our accomodation in advance for our weekend away, and breakfast is included both days, but we still need to find $$ for other meals. I suspect at least one lunch will be of the olives, hummus, fruit & bread variety, but I’m guessing we’ll buy a couple of cafe meals as well as our restaurant extravagance. As luck would have it, my gym and health fund debits will both come out of this pay, AND we’re going out to dinner with my Dad tomorrow night. This means I need to do a little creative juggling of the budget.

Last week we only spent $30 on fruit & veg, as the pantry & freezer were well stocked. We didn’t plan this – just looked at what we had, & decided that was all we needed. This week, however, I’m going to menu plan quite deliberately, and make sure we don’t spend more than $25 on fresh food. We’ll eat through the stockpile for the rest.

My plan so far:
I’m going to make veggie paella for dinner tonight, which will use up any veg from last week that are on the way to getting tired, and makes 8 generous serves. I’ll freeze the leftovers, & that will take care of lunches for next week. I’ll also bake a loaf of rye bread tomorrow, & freeze slices for breakfast toast. I’m out of almond butter, but still have plenty of peanut butter & jam.

Friday dinner will be falafel wraps (made from pantry mix), with homemade hummus, roast onion & pumpkin, homegrown salad, and mountain bread from the freezer.

I’ll work out the rest when I see what’s cheap at the markets on the weekend.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

