Ms Betterhome


Budgeting 3: Quality not Quantity.
January 31, 2010, 12:53 am
Filed under: budgeting, home & hearth | Tags: ,

As indicated by this blog’s title, my partner & I are saving to buy a Better Home (with or without dungeon).This means we’re extremely careful with our spending choices – which has, strangely enough, led us to buying MUCH better quality items when we do decide to spend.

For example, when both my bread machine & wand blender were on their last legs at the end of last year, I decided to replace them both at the Factory Seconds outlet. Because I had researched both retail prices & the gear itself, I wound up buying top of the line machines at the cost of KMart cheapies.

As I mentioned in an earlier post, we’re coming up to our 5th anniversary, and want to celebrate with a weekend break (part of our ‘experience not stuff’ policy). After much discussion of the factors that attracted us to various venues, we settled on a very glam guesthouse with a restaurant run by a top Sydney chef, about 90 mins drive from our place – near both a beach and a National Park. We weren’t able to book the weekend of our actual anniversary, but discovered we could get almost 50% the rack rate on wotif.com if we took a Sunday/Monday block rather than Friday/Saturday… and Valentines Day was available. The decision made, leave has been applied for, funds have been transferred from my ‘accessible’ saving account (that I use for holidays & HECs fees), and we’re good to go 5 star on a budget.

This is NOT something I would have been able to do 5 years ago, and I’m grateful.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

