Ms Betterhome


Giving gifts of ‘experience’
January 28, 2010, 12:21 am
Filed under: learning, love & relationships | Tags: , ,

My partner and I are coming up to our 5th anniversary, and are planning a weekend away. Neither of us need anymore ‘stuff’, so we like to share ‘experiences’ to celebrate birthdays and anniversaries – for example, we went to Cafe Sydney for lunch as our Christmas present to one another.

I have increasingly found it hard to buy gifts for my parents, since they too have no need of stuff. Theatre tickets and dinners are the new gift for them. Last night my dad & stepmother went to the theatre, which was their ‘Xmas present’ from my sister and myself. This was much appreciated, especially as we looked out for my brother, who has an intellectual disability. Since bro can’t stay home alone, my Dad & Stepmum almost *never* get to do dinner and the theatre as a couple. It’s almost a cliche, but truly, the dollar value of a gift of a good experience is almost irrelevant. I’m glad the people I love appreciate them as much as I do!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

