Ms Betterhome


The garden mystery continues…
January 7, 2010, 7:06 am
Filed under: food, gardening, home & hearth | Tags: ,

I scored some compost from a kind freecycler a few months ago, and it has contributed quite a few renegade tomatoes to the garden. It has also grown an impressive mystery vine out under the tomatoes. I know it’s some kind of pumpkin or melon, but even though it’s finally fruiting, I’m none the wiser.

It’s currently green, & the size of a small egg. Hopefully it’ll be easier to identify in a week or so.

The rest of the garden is going well. We planted two new bean vines yesterday, and will have some more ripe cherry tomatoes in the next ten days. I gave everything a good drink of diluted bokashi juice a couple of days ago, and followed up with some seaweed tonic today. The worms seem to be settling in nicely, and I’m in search of new friends for them, too.

We had a successful run to the Breville Factory Outlet before Xmas, and I decided to bite the bullet & finally upgrade my small, dodgy bread machine (purchased for $5 at a fete), and my stick blender. The replacements were top of the line, and cost $165 all up – a bargain. I’m loving the blender (I use it all the time), and will try the bread machine next week… MrB isn’t a big bread eater, but we like to have rolls in the freezer to go with salads & soups, and I’m partial to toast & hummus for a quick brekky. I am a firm believer in freecycle karma; so I freecycled the old machine & blender today. I hope we’re blessed with freecycle worms soon.

Edited to add: My karma was obviously good – I received an offer of worms from a person who lives in walking distance. MrB & I took a post-dinner stroll up to collect them, and they are happily re-housed.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

