Ms Betterhome


Home and harvest (with added budget-tracking)
January 4, 2010, 10:08 am
Filed under: gardening, home & hearth | Tags: , ,

I harvested 6 cucumbers yesterday after I got home from holidays – there will be salad galore for the next week!

There was good rain over the last week, so the garden has grown a lot, but sadly the powdery mildew took hold while I was away. I cut lots of leaves off today, but some of the older tomatoes will just have to go. We’re going to do some digging up & re-planting tomorrow, including the new passionfruit vine I got for Xmas.

I’m trying to track our grocery spending over the next few months – it will be approximate, as I’ll be os for a week for work. We did a BIG stock-up at Aldi today, including a pallet of tinned toms, 6 cans of chickpeas, 6 jars of salsa, 3 litres of olive oil, 2kg of grey-water laundry powder, bulk liquid soap (which we last bought 12 months ago), 6 bottles of soda water & about $12 worth of fruit & veg. The whole lot cost $110. I’m keeping receipts for at least 6 months, so we can see how fast we spend, then I’ll try & average it out from week to week… it should be an interesting exercise.

We just opened a 1kg package of Aware concentrated grey-water-safe laundry powder yesterday, too. I’m going to see how long it takes to use it up, as I’m keen to know what our ‘ordinary’ consumption levels are.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

