Ms Betterhome


Summer garden & holiday cooking
December 23, 2009, 3:41 am
Filed under: food, gardening | Tags: , ,

I re-potted my new Hass and Fuerte avocados on the weekend, and noticed that the pit I was sprouting seems to be reviving. Although the original sprout died (of collar rot, I suspect), a new shoot has emerged, and the first leaves are unfurling. Even if all I get is a houseplant, I’ll be very pleased.

I’ll be able to eat my first cucumbers this week – the vine is climbing waaay off the trellis now, and still fruiting like crazy. All my ‘new’ tomatoes are flowering as the old ones die off…I saw some tiny new fruit on the tommy-toes a day or so ago. The jerusalem artichokes are flowering now, too, like gorgeous daisy/sunflower hybrids.

I made fantastic vegan molasses spice & chocolate chip cookies on the weekend. I’ll be stocking up on stonefruit on Xmas eve, for jam & chutney making over the next few days. My nephew requested a jar on home-made strawberry jam for Xmas, so I’ll make another batch of strawberry, as well as the cherry I had already planned. Mr B is visiting his family near Victoria for the holidays, but I decided to stay home for my family lunch. Although I travel a lot for work, this is the first time he has travelled, & I’ve had the house to myself since we shacked up. I’ll miss him, but I’ll enjoy the solitude, too.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

