Ms Betterhome


Recent reading
December 23, 2009, 12:00 pm
Filed under: food, gardening, learning | Tags: , ,

I haven’t done a lot of non-work related reading lately, but I have looked at a couple of new books. Here’s a mixed bag:

Work

The Creative Habit: Learn It and Use It for Life, by Twyla Tharp

I first learned about this one from Mystic Medusa’s fabulous astro-blog. Very personal, readable insight into a life-long creative discipline. Tharp has a new book out about collaboration, which really interests me, as I do a fair bit of collaborative work.

Food

Thrive: The Vegan Nutrition Guide to Optimal Performance in Sports and Life, by Brendan Brazier

Hmm, mixed feelings here. I did learn from reading this, and I really love the idea of eating to reduce stress & improve physical/mental performance, but I have real reservations around the whole ‘superfoods’ thing. For example, Brazier champions agave & hemp. I live in Australia, where hemp seems to be illegal in foods (other than oil), &  we can only get agave imported from North America. I suspect the environmental costs of shipping ‘exotic’ ingredients might outweigh the personal benefits. As a consequence, I’d like to know more about the properties of particularly nutritious foods, & be offered a list of alternatives, so I can go with the best locally sourced version. This book gave me good ideas, but was very ingredient-specific to North America.

Gardening

All New Square Foot Gardening, by Mel Bartholomew

I have heard great things about this method, & reading Bartholomew’s book was very inspiring. It’s not something I’ll be using in our current home, but it looks like something I’ll definitely try once we have our own place!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

