Ms Betterhome


Vegan Christmas plans
December 8, 2009, 11:25 pm
Filed under: food | Tags: ,

I was veg for a long time before I dropped eggs & dairy, so my family is pretty good with things like not putting meat & eggs in salads. When we snacky things there is always hummus & veggies or crackers; and when have a group meal I generally bring a big veg main dish to share. Everyone genuinely likes veggies, too, so good vegan contributions are appreciated (though I don’t try to slip tofu or seitan into the mix).

Since Christmas is usually HOT, I often bring a loaf of crusty bread & a big platter of barbequed veggies, drizzled with salt, pepper, olive oil & balsamic, and a big pot of hummus. I grill a mountain of thinly sliced sweet potato, capsicum, eggplant, zucchini, purple onion, asparagus & field mushrooms. The colours are beautiful together on the plate. I generally have the veggies & hummus as my ‘main dish’, while the others have it as a side dish (along with potatoes, salads and whatnot).

I haven’t 100% decided what I’ll do this year, but think I’ll bake a big pan of vegan stuffing as well.  Omnivores tend to love this, since there’s never enough stuffing to go around, anyway. The Millenium cookbook has a great a couple of good terrines (based on cashews & set with agar) that might be good, too. One is a double layer of spinach/coriander & capsicum, the other is a kind of mushroom pate. Both are delicious, *really* glam and don’t look or taste ‘health foody’, which is important at big extended family gatherings.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

