Ms Betterhome


New fruit trees, and vegan pizza.
December 6, 2009, 12:39 pm
Filed under: food, gardening | Tags: ,

I requested multi-graft fruit trees for Xmas, & Santa (aka my sister & folks) came through this week. I have one stone fruit with peach, apricot, plumcot, plum and nectarine; and a citrus with lemon, lime, mandarin & tangelo. They were mailed, & arrived safely, but had to wait at my sister’s house from Friday til Sunday morning –  not ideal, but c’est la vie. They’re currently soaking in a bucket of water with a little seaweed added, and I’ll plant them out tomorrow. They need to grow for about a year before they can fruit properly, and I’ll need to watch out to make sure the grafts all grow evenly. I also need to mark all the grafted branches with paint, so I can snap off any growth from the rootstock, while encouraging the fruit I want.

In unrelated news, I made a great vegan pizza on turkish bread tonight. I used lots of veggies, olives, fresh herbs & a good sprinkling of Cheezely mozzarella, with garlic-y sauteed spinach as the base. Deee-licious.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

thats really cool.
And a vegan pizza?.
interesting

Comment by kseverny




Leave a Reply

