Ms Betterhome


Thrifty vegan housewife au-go-go
November 21, 2009, 6:16 am
Filed under: food, home & hearth | Tags: , ,

It was super hot & humid yesterday, I came home knowing I would have to work on the weekend AND I was overtired & pre-menstrual. Not an inspiring set of conditions for cooking dinner.

I surprised myself though, by coming up with a very rich-tasting vegan ‘veggie tart’ using the last 2 sheets of frozen puff pastry. The base of the tart was 2 slices of leftover firm tofu blended with the last 3 tablespoons of homemade pesto and a canned artichoke heart. I sautéed one & a half zucchini (the half was a leftover), with a half onion I found in the fridge, and some silverbeet from the garden. With the sautéed veg spread over the pesto base, I added a layer of halved cherry tomatoes, and the last tablespoon of pine nuts. The topper was the last quarter of a packet of Cheezly mozzarella, which handily grated up to lightly cover the entire tart. I served the tart room temperature, with a side salad made from a 3rd of a capsicum (also a leftover), some cos lettuce and homegrown basil & spring onions.

It was a satisfying meal, it used up lots of odds & ends AND we had 2 pieces leftover to snack on over the weekend. If only I had a perky apron, my evening would have been complete 🙂

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

