Ms Betterhome


Cooking up a storm!
November 5, 2009, 5:08 am
Filed under: food, vegan eating | Tags: , ,

I’m having a ‘work at home’ day tomorrow, which means all my breaks will be cooking breaks. I like to do a ‘clean out the fridge’ soup when I’m at home all day, and cook a batch of beans as well (note to self- soak beans tonight). Cooking days put me ahead in the busy weeks when I seem to get home late everyday.

Our friend V. has a new job starting next week, and we’ll be cooking a celebratory dinner for her, her wife, & another set of friends/neighbours next Wed. Consequently, part of my job tomorrow will be planning our weekly grocery shop to cover the ‘special’ dinner. I very rarely cook for more than 4 people, so I will need to consult the cookbook oracles to ensure get the proportions are right.

I’m currently getting bored of my current rotation of ‘hearty main dishes’, and want to branch out. I think the time is right to try Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s recipe for seitan, which I will then transmute further into a dish from Robin Robertson‘s book, Fresh From the Vegetarian Slow Cooker. I’m wavering between Braised Seitan with Red Wine and Mushrooms, and BBQ Seitan and Veggies. I’m also keen to try her (seitan-free) 5 Layer Strata with Pesto.

If I don’t decide to worship seitan, I’ll try making these vegan sausages instead. They look a-may-zing.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

