Ms Betterhome


Gardening Update 4
November 4, 2009, 1:09 pm
Filed under: gardening | Tags:

We are having roller coaster weather! 39 degrees C yesterday, 22 today.

The new purslane has come up already, and the warrigal spinach, basil & golden purslane looooved the heat.

I have lots of chillis coming along, 3 tomatoes on the volunteer plant, one on a principe borgese & zillions of flowers. The plants get fewer hours of direct sun than I would like, but I guess that will be good if we have a really hot summer.

I think I’m only going to get one new lemon this year, but I have my eye on some feral lemons hanging over people’s fences around the neighbourhood. I notice, too, that someone has planted a dwarf lemon in a nature strip up the hill from us, that is covered in baby fruit. There’s a lot of backyard/street food around here (mostly in the form of lemon trees, fig trees, loquats, passionfruit vines & chokos). I’m thinking of taking a walk with my camera to document it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

