Ms Betterhome


Getting in a pickle
October 30, 2009, 5:01 am
Filed under: food, gardening, Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

I have a half a cabbage that I don’t seem to be doing anything constructive with, so I’m going to try Kim Chi, using this recipe from Tigress in a Pickle. I’ll add some carrot too, as I’ve got quite a few in the crisper. I’m happy with her instructions for fermentation in a regular old jar – fermenting crocks are not exactly common household items in Australia!  My other project for the weekend will be pickled beetroot – I found an easy looking recipe that adds chillis (yum!) & star anise (which I don’t have, so will probably add some orange peel & cinnamon stick or two instead). I used to go to a Moroccan cafe that served great chilli beetroot – hope this approximates the flavour.

Other than that, I’ll be picking up my compost, doing housework, coming in to work for a couple of hours, going out dancing & spending time with a friend who has just come back from San Francisco. She’s moving house, and will gift me some chives & thyme from her garden – I’m chuffed.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

