Ms Betterhome


10 how-to books that changed my life (in a good way)
October 19, 2009, 5:17 am
Filed under: about me, learning | Tags: , , ,

It’s hard to limit a list like this, but these are the books that have challenged, inspired and supported me, in all aspects of ‘home-making’.

On money & frugal living

The Complete Tightwad Gazette by Amy Dacyzyn

You can find this book recommended everywhere online… it’s dated in some ways, but truly inspiring in others. The link takes you to a recent interview with ‘The Frugal Zealot’ herself at The Simple Dollar.

Your Mortgage The Savings Edition: How to Save $50,000 to $250,000 per Property by Anita Bell

The new edition of an Australian classic. Believe it or not, I was clueless about home-buying ’til I read this (some time around my 40th birthday).  Bell has a down to earth style, & she sincerely wants to help people sort their finances out.

9 steps to Financial Freedom by Suze Orman

As above! I read the Australian edition of this book, which I picked up at a 2nd hand bookshop.

On sexuality & relationships

The Ethical Slut by Dossie Easton and Janet Hardy

Please don’t be horrified by the ‘S’ word. This is a wonderful & supportive book which would help communication & negotiation in any relationship.

Passionate Marriage by David Schnarch

A guide to getting through bad times, & celebrating  sexuality as part of long-term, committed relationships.

Urban Tantra by Barbara Carrellas

Gorgeous, queer-friendly introduction to sacred sexuality.

On gardening

The Wilderness Garden by Jackie French

Inspiring! Jackie French is one of Australia’s great gardening/sustainability writers.

Fresh Food from Small Spaces The Square-Inch Gardener’s Guide to Year-Round Growing, Fermenting, and Sprouting by R. J. Ruppenthal

This book made me realise how much I could grow in a inner-city backyard. Yes, I went vertical.

On cooking

How it all Vegan by Tania Barnard and Sarah Kramer

It was hard to choose between all the great cookbooks Barnard & Kramer have written (including Kramer’s solo publications), but this was one of the first books I read that made vegan cooking & eating & living seem easy & fun.

Vegan with a Vengeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

And this was the other one! Moskowitz’ books are all outstanding… I’m currently drooling over the veggie sausage recipes in Vegan Brunch.

Comments are closed.



