Ms Betterhome


The permaculture vision vs the day job
October 17, 2009, 11:27 pm
Filed under: about me

I have the kind of very intense workload that lots of people in their 40s have – I work long hours & bring work home with me, deal with deadlines & dramas, travel for work every couple of months, keep up with a number of projects simultaneously… and I’m half way through a 3 year contract, so I don’t have much wiggle room in terms of altering the job as it stands.

I love the diversity of my work, which involves writing, teaching & research. It pays well (which is important after being a student for over a decade), &  I get to  make a difference to things that are important to me (like social justice) as part of my job. But I do feel torn sometimes between the level of energy it takes to work, and the levels of energy I would like to put into other things – friends, family, community, sustainability, food security. It’s a juggling act, and  I drop the ball at home or at work more often than I would like.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

